Mark Millar – The nice thing is, because I own them all I can make sure nobody else ever writes them

The nice thing is, because I own them all I can make sure nobody else ever writes them, which I quite like the idea of. Because nobody thinks, “Oh Harry Potter 7 needs to be written by a crap new writer.” It has to be 100 years till the licence becomes available, and by that point I won’t care. I love the idea that if anybody is going to fuck up these stories it’s going to be me. I like the idea of writing the books — the books are on my shelf, the books are exactly as I want them and then I just license them to film people and they can have another life in cinema. Somebody can come and do a remake of Kick-Ass and all new material, and that keeps the story alive and fresh. Stan Lee said to me he hated giving up the reigns to Spider-Man  and all that stuff, but because he didn’t own them there was nothing he could do. It’s nice to own all our own characters. Now we actually have creative control and it’s so brilliant compared to the poor guys who did the job a generation before us.

http://www.wired.com/underwire/2012/10/mark-millar-superhero-genre/

Leave a Reply

